Thiagarajar College of Engineering

(A Govt. aided, ISO 9001:2000 certified Autonomous Institution

Department of Physics Board of Studies - Minutes of the Meeting

8.6.2022, 2:30 PM

The Board of Studies Meeting for B.E./B.Tech first semester is held on 8.6.2022 in the Department of Physics. The following internal members and external expert members are present:

External Expert:

Dr. N Gopala Krishnan, Professor, Department of Physics, NITT

Internal Members:

(Department of Physics) Dr M Mahendran, Professor & Head Dr. N Sankara Subramanian, Professor Mr. V Veeraganesh, Assistant Professor Dr. A L Subramanian, Assistant Professor Dr A Karuppasamy, Assistant Professor Dr B Janani, Assistant Professor

The agenda of the meeting is approval of the courses 'Physics' and 'Physics laboratory' with the revised syllabus.

The agenda was discussed in an open forum, taking into consideration of the opinion and suggestions of expert member and corrections were carried out.

The topics 'Einstein's theory, CO2 -Nd-YAG were removed and new topics 'Fibre optics, Numerical Aperture & Acceptance angle, Fibre optic sensors, Liquid Level & Medical Applications' were added. Quantum cascade laser was moved from the unit 'Optics' to 'Quantum Mechanics'

The course codes were changed to 22PH120, 22PH180 respectively in line with the 2022 regulations.

Prepared by,

ndran, ad, styl bl22
nysics, TCE

Topolali shaff 2022 Prof. Dr. M Mahendran, Professor and Head.

Department of Physics, TCE

Approved by,

Dr. N Gopala Krishnan,

Professor,

Department of Physics,

National Institute of Technology Tiruchirapalli

THIAGARAJAR COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING

(A Govt. aided Autonomous Institution Affiliated to Anna University)

B.E. / B.Tech. First Semester Board of studies 10 June 2022

MINUTES OF THE MEETING

The Board of studies for B.E. / B.Tech First semester was held on 10-06-2022 in the Department of Chemistry. The following expert member and internal staff members were present.

1. Dr. S. Velmathi, Professor, Department of Chemistry, NIT Trichy

The Agenda for the meeting is,

Approval for the two courses with the new syllabus

22CH130 Chemistry

22CH190 Chemistry Laboratory

The agenda was discussed in an open forum, the opinion and suggestions of expert were taken into considerations and corrections were carried out.

Prepared by:

Dr. M. Kottaisamy, HD Chemistry

Approved by:

Dr. S. Velmathi, Professor, Department of Chemistry, NIT Trichy

Points suggested by the Expert

22CH130 - Chemistry

- 1. In 2.9, specific metal plating such as gold and nickel electroplating techniques are added.
- 2. In 4.3, optical and magnetic properties are included.
- 3. In 4.9, drug delivery, photo and electro-catalysis are included in nanomaterials applications.

22CH190 - Chemistry Laboratory

- 1. It is suggested to remove alkalinity determination and chloride estimation experiments from the existing list.
- 2. Surface tension determination experiment is included in the list.
- 3. It is suggested to keep determination of optimal current density and rate of corrosion of metal & alloy using potentio-dynamic polarisation method as optional experiments.

THIAGARAJAR COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING

(A Govt. aided ISO 9001:2000 certified Autonomous Institution Affiliated to Anna University)

B.E. / B.Tech First Semester Board of studies 10 June 2022

List of external and internal members

External Member

External member	Department	Department	
Dr. S. Velmathi	Professor, Department Chemistry, NIT Trichy	of	overali.

List of internal members

S.No.	Internal member	Department	Designation	Signature
1	Dr. M. Kottaisamy	chemistry	professor	Alemi
2.	Dr. S. Balaji	Chemietry	AssociProt	Lihj.
3	Dr. V. ellannan	Chemistry	test put	v. Com
2	Dr. S. Sira Ilango	chamistry	Ap. chem	Sa
45	Dr. M. VECAYUDHAM	Chamsty	At Chon	36.02
6	Dr. R. KODI PANDYAN	chemistry	AP. Chem	leng
7	Dr. A. Ramaninga chandra se kov	Chemistro	AP. Chem	G-+1
8	Dr. B. SHANKAR	Chemistry	AP, Chen	BBS



DEPARTMENT: ENGLISH

DATE: 10.06.2022 TIME: 10.15 a.m.

SUBJECT EXPERT: Dr. R. JOSEPH PONNAIAH, Professor of English, NIT, Trichy.

FACULTY MEMBERS ATTENDED: Dr. A. TAMILSELVI

Dr. S. RAJARAM

Dr. G. JEYA JEEVAKANI Dr. R. TAMIL SELVI Mrs. M. SARPPARAJE

MINUTES:

The subject Expert suggested the following recommendations for the improvement of the syllabus (Technical English and English Lab)

- CO5 to be changed as Develop the skills such as understanding, evaluating, analyzing, summarizing the text and graphical representations.
- Suggested that the focus on reading literature should be emphasized for the sub-conscious acquisition of English language proficiency by giving descriptive questions from extensive reading.
- Recommended that the module on Writing instructions shall be renamed as Manual writing.
- 4. He recommended the following books for references:
 - i. Peter Elbow's "Writing with Power"
 - ii. Tagore's "Chitra" (as a part of Extensive Reading)

Signature of the Subject Expert

Signature of the faculty members

1. Dr. A. Tamilselvi d. Jahg

Dr. S. Rajaram
 Dr. G. Jeya Jeevakani.

4. Dr. R. Tamil Selvi

5. Mrs. M. Sarpparaje



THIAGARAJAR COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING, MADURAI 625 015.

(A Govt. Aided Autonomous Institution Affiliated to Anna University)

Department of Mathematics and English

Minutes of Meeting

A discussion with the subject expert Dr. V. Lakshmana Gomathi Nayagam, Associate Professor & Head, Department of Mathematics, NIT, Trichy, related with syllabus revision for the course 22MA110-Calculus for Engineers related to the BOS meeting is held on 10.06.2022 at HOD room, Department of Mathematics, TCE between 10.30am to 11.30am.

The following points were discussed.

- 1. "Higher Engineering Mathematics" by B.S. Grewal was suggested to include in references.
- Self study item in the syllabus may not be specified separately in syllabus as recommended by the expert.
- 3. Non uniformity in Marks split ups for various units has been discussed and justified by faculties.
- 4. The course outcomes 4,5,6 were suggested for corrections.
- The difference between exists and proposed syllabus for first semester were discussed by the faculty members and the same was approved by the subject expert.

Member's Present:

- 1. Dr. S. Jevabharathi
- 2. Dr. R. Rammohan
- 3. Dr. B. Vellaikannan
- 4. Dr. A. Anitha
- 5. Dr. C.S. Senthilkumar
- 6. Dr. S.P. Suriyaprabha
- 7. Dr. S. Saravanakumar
- 8. Dr. L. Muthu Subramanian

V. lats 10 06/2022 Subject Expert

(Dr. V. Lakshmana Gomathi Nayagam)

HOD

or, S. (leyabharathi)

Dr.S.JEYABHARATHI HEAD

Department Of Mathematics & English Thiagarajar College Of Engineering Madural - 625 015